Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 20 of 239 Posts

·
This guy
288 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's my first car, and as a High School student, I drive mainly from my home to school and ocassionally out and about with friends. I have already 1.2k miles on the car, and I've had it since Christmas. It's a 2011 Auto 2.0T (my baby). However, I am getting roughly 15.4MPG--and that's with MY calculations. The trip computer states I get 15.2MPG. I don't understand why the mileage is so bad. I don't (usually) have a lead foot, and I even use cruise control when possible. Any tips? I've done some searching on the forums, and couldn't find anything directly related. Thanks guys, appreciate any help. :D

·
Registered
2,043 Posts
Not really anything you can do. Sort of hilarious that the 2011s still get **** mileage though. I was wondering if them putting the 3.9 back end on them would make any difference and it doesn't look like it does.

You can try putting an intake on but it won't really do much other than add an extra mpg or two. You'll hardly notice. I find my mileage maximizes if I keep the auto running under 3,000 RPM but that's pretty hard to do and not fun at all. Other than that, your best bet is to bitch to your dealership/Hyundai, try to sue Hyundai, or deal with it. Sorry dude.

·
Registered
2,043 Posts
Just FYI, I average about 20 MPG in the winter with most of my commute to work being highway. In the summer that edges up to 22-23 MPG. On long range trips I'll hit anywhere from 26-28 MPG, but I've never been able to hit 30 mpg (the sticker quote) no matter what length of trip. The auto loses MPG pretty quick past about 65 mph cruising...

Your 15.x mpg is pretty low, IMO. I think it's kind of abnormal. Just my opinion.

·
3.5L TT but wrong body
12,003 Posts
Youre not alone. Seems just about everyes 20t 5at gets piss poor mpg. 15ish seems lower than most though. My wife averages right around 19 with a decent bit of highway thrown in.

·
Round 3
929 Posts