Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience rebuilding the 2.0 Theta II engine on a manual 2012 Genesis Coupe. Wondering how difficult this would be to achieve and what the cost would be. Basically, I'm going to look at a Genesis tomorrow, and the seller was forthright and admitted that he blown the engine doing donuts. I imagine (I'm very new to this) that the seller blown a cylinder or a head gasket. He stated that the car runs right now but barely. I want to take this project on and I'm wondering what sort of issues I can expect. I haven't got the OBD codes yet, but there's 81,000 miles on the chassis and it's a clean Florida title so I wont be dealing with any rust.

Any suggestions on what I should offer for this car would also be appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
177 Posts
most of these 2.0's spin a rod bearing, so u can expect the crank to require work or need replacement, and at minimum bearings, and probably a rod.
seems most of these genesis owners dont know much about cars so they usually really tear stuff up by trying to limp it around or keep trying to start it. so its likely going to require more than the minimum

·
Premium Member
16,498 Posts
Hey guys,

I'm wondering if anyone here has any experience rebuilding the 2.0 Theta II engine on a manual 2012 Genesis Coupe. Wondering how difficult this would be to achieve and what the cost would be. Basically, I'm going to look at a Genesis tomorrow, and the seller was forthright and admitted that he blown the engine doing donuts. I imagine (I'm very new to this) that the seller blown a cylinder or a head gasket. He stated that the car runs right now but barely. I want to take this project on and I'm wondering what sort of issues I can expect. I haven't got the OBD codes yet, but there's 81,000 miles on the chassis and it's a clean Florida title so I wont be dealing with any rust.