Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have had my 2013 R-Spec for 5 years this month (it was one of the first 2013's to hit the country). I was thinking about lowering the ride height, which for the front looks straightforward, as I have a lot of experience with motorcycles and am used to coilovers and how to adjust them. The rear is a separate shock and spring. Is there any adjustment for the rear? I didn't see any obvious height adjustment, so I'm assuming you'd have to change out the springs, but that would lower the travel, which might not necessarily be good.

I got the SFR ECU flash in December and am happy with it. It took all the "wa-wa-wa" out of the acceleration, which I assume was the ECU cutting the engine back at every tiny hint of wheel spin. It would do this even with the traction control set to "off". Now it just pulls. As long as you're above 4k on the tach, the engine will respond instantly, and the extended redline is very cool. Below 4k RPM the engine response still feels a bit lazy to me, but I'm used to carbureted engines where the response is instantaneous.

For all of you who are new to the 3.8, I have some observations.

The first thing I do if there's no ice on the road is turn off the traction control. The traction control on the Genesis is WAY overly aggressive and will cut the throttle back at every opportunity. I was crossing a road in the wet, the back wheels broke loose just a bit, and the traction control almost put me through the windshield. I would rather the traction and stability control worked the other way, where you would have to push the button to enable it rather than to disable it.