Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

Just a disclaimer that I'm a noob and I'm about to tell you some stuff that proves it - could really use some help on this one.

Quick background: I hit 25,000 miles on my 2013 Genny 2.0T RS a few weeks ago and since I've been doing all the work myself to keep it maintained I figured I'd do the same for the 1st big checkup. I keep a log and all my receipts and ya... anyways... been following Snoopy's manual transmission thread and ordered some Mitsubishi super gear oil (enough to do a full flush), Redline diff oil (enough to do a full flush) and basically preparing for a nice Sunday once everything arrived to get it all done on one day. As I was driving home last Friday I noticed my car was stuttering a little at high RPM. It felt exactly the way a car feels when your spark plugs are missing. I knew 25,000 miles was low for spark plugs but I also know that I drive 120 miles a day to work round trip and it's hot down in SoCal and my driving style doesn't favor conserving gas - so figured - hey - might as well get some new plugs, too. I got some Autolite Iridium XLs which is all I could find in stock and figured they'd be fine until I could order some Densos.

One of the first things I did when I got my Genesis was equip it with a dual catch can solution. They both had the little plastic thingys on them that allows you to see how much oil has been collected. After 3,000 miles they hadn't even filled up a little bit and I even posted on the forums about it wondering if I had done something wrong. Based on the pictures I put up, etc. I got lots of good feedback and felt like it was good and nothing to worry about. And now in retrospect, I know that my setup was good and my car was just efficient (plus mainly all highway miles).

This is where my noobiness is going to get me flamed...