Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,
I have been reading some very knowledgeable stuff on these forums. My question has been debated before but the debate will normally occur during a hijack of another thread or a 40 page discussion. So I will simply ask these simple questions.

1. Can you lower the car and increase stock performance?
2. Should someone new to the addiction of AutoCross learn the car and find it's maximum potential before putting money in Coil-overs or springs?
3. If you are planning on AutoX and Tracking the car at least 6-8 days a month, would 18's be optimal as far as the cost\performance equation goes?

As a Novice I have been getting some excellent advice from seasoned drivers. Most believe that staying in F Stock is the best way to learn the car and get some skill. I have a hard time with this as I am compelled to make the car look better, eg., lower, tighter, faster.

I think the rational response is "Do what makes you happy".
Obviously looking good is important. Showing up to an event in a great looking car is nice. Under performing on said track could be embarrassing. I would just like to get some thoughts from the community and see what others have contemplated.

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
1) Yes. Some of the aftermarket coil-overs when lowered slightly (i.e .75-1") definitely improve performance over stock Track stuff even w/ the downside of less ideal suspension geometry. That is the lowered number Stance told me is ideal actually. They said if I dropped any more performance would quickly fall off. If you currently aren't on track suspension you can drop even more.