Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright so I'm not a mechanic nor an engineer but I do have a good amount knowledge on how the engine works and how adding a turbo or supercharger works and on an on. But I am no expert, so I was wondering if anyone could give me insight on whether or not i should eventually boost my 2012 3.8 grand touring. I'm still in high school and I'm hopefully going to go to UCLA. Money is a little tight so I would like to know how easy it is to build my own turbo setup or twin turbo on a stock motor. My car is only muffler deleted for now and some outside mods. How much would it cost for a ready made kit as well? What's the better option? Thanks for all the replies in advance and sorry if this has been posted before.

·
Premium Member
16,142 Posts
supercharger is a better option.

Overall, it will cost the same if not less overall, less parts to deal with.

Downside is you are limited with the power can make, compared to a turbo system.
Depending on the power level you are looking for, you are going to have to replace the internals to make big power on a turbo setup.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
supercharger is a better option.

Overall, it will cost the same if not less overall, less parts to deal with.

Downside is you are limited with the power can make, compared to a turbo system.
Depending on the power level you are looking for, you are going to have to replace the internals to make big power on a turbo setup.
Thanks for the reply. I wanna be making big big numbers eventually with this car so I think I should go the turbo route instead of the supercharger. Price wise, what do you think the cheapest I could go for is, and also If I bought used parts or a cheap 1k kit from amazon and made it fit, would that be a viable option?

·
Registered
486 Posts