Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total noob when it comes to a coilover setup. All I know is I want a slight drop and want to have stock ride quaility. I have a 3.8 base so it is not a very rough ride. My last car had a 2.5 drop with just springs and it rode like a log wagon. My wife would kill me if I made this brand new car ride like shat. Any sugestions would be nice.

·
Registered
2,700 Posts
eibach pro-kit and eibach sportlines don't ride bad at all, don't get me wrong I eventually made the switch over to coilovers myself, but only because I was looking for more control, and performance.

I also came from a track set-up/suspension so i couldn't tell you how the Base suspension felt like. Maybe someone else can chime in.

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Correct me if I am wrong here but I have read that just puting lowering springs on stock struts is bad. The stock struts are compressed more than they shoul be makeing for a rougher ride. And the bump stops get hit quicker

·
FUNCTION OVER FORM
5,383 Posts
The "base" GenCoupes may be OK for "old" people or people not into performance, but me & my brother both would not have purchased the base model coupe after haven driven them. They just don't handle well enought for either of us, so he bought a 3.8 Track & I bought a 2.0 R-Spec. The OEM track tuned suspension is OK & good enough for most, but if you want a lower ride height, the Eibach springs are a good choice for DD use.

You are correct Darth Genesis, that the lowering spring along with stock shocks will eventually blow the shocks/struts out, but that may take several years to happen, so you can still do it & save for the upgraded struts later. If you want adjustability, the Stance & ARKs seem to fit the bill well for DD use.

·
Registered
2,700 Posts