Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So my differential died the other day and I wanted to share my experience. I'll be the first to admit I am by no means a car expert, but I do know you need to learn about the cars you mod and pay to play. I've learned more about cars in the last year than any year prior and I continue to research and learn. While this failure could be considered my fault, I look at it as a learning opportunity and now I know what the signs are of a failing differential.

So first off, I had my clutch replaced and a Quaife LSD installed around June/July of this year. After the break in, I had the oil changed and have been driving it with no issues since. However, a couple weeks ago I started experiencing a few issues and had I taken it to a mechanic immediately, I may have saved it. So what were these issues?

• Intermittent burning smell. I'm not experienced in the art of diagnosing car issues by smell and it was very intermittent. It often seemed to occur after not feathering the clutch properly, so I though maybe I burnt the clutch a little. I checked for an oil leak and saw nothing obvious in my driveway, garage, or in my favorite spots at work. Here I was thinking an oil spill would be fairly evident, when it was hiding all along. In fact, oil puddles weren't found until the day of the issue so. The other thing I missed was why my trunk was dirty. It seems the vapors from the burning oil made their way to my trunk and helped it collect dirt. Once this was pointed out by one mechanic, I realized yeah you can smell it without the car even running/being warm.
  • My shifter started to feel off for lack of better words. I'm used to the side-by-side vibrations it normally has, but then it started to have a more "vertical" bounce to it every so often while moving.