Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
NuConceptDesigns
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys this is my first attempt at creating a DIY here and it might be pretty bad, I don't know! I've been running my own private garage for awhile now and I've done many rim refinishes and I'm excited to show you guys how to as well. Typically a store will charge you 400$ and upwards, but doing it yourself will save you a lot of money. The method that I use here is just the way I do things and I'm sure there many different ways of refinishing your rims. I choose to jack my car up completely using 4 jack stands. But people who do not have 4 jacks can do this as well... it will just take you a much longer time as you will have to do each rim 1 by 1. But none the less hope you guys will find this helpful.

*WARNING*
There's a few things you should know before you start this project and things that you should consider. It will take a lot of patience, and a lot of effort to do a good job. Also it's recommended that you have experience in painting and have a technique down. You have to understand that if you don't put the time and effort into doing the rims properly they will not turn out the way you want them to and that they will chip really easily. The painting experience and technique is really important too because if at any point you screw up (ie. splatters, coats are too thick and start to get runny, etc...) then it will become very very tough to fix and chances are you will have to redo the spoke or even the entire rim.

This does involved jacking your car up. Before you go start doing that make sure the jacks and stands that you will support the weight of your car.

I take no responsibility for anything that happens to your car. I am merely showing you how I do mine.

========================

Not all of them are actually according to the steps... but it shows what it should look like basically... If you get confused just let me know!

[ Tools Needed ]