Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2010 2.0T base model
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’ve seen across some threads that a lot of people use either 5w30 or 5w40 grade oil in their turbo genesis. I for myself currently run royal purple high mileage 5w30 in my BK1 and change the oil bout every 3000miles just to keep it clean, but I’ve seen some talk around here about the use of 5w40 is better for the turbos. My car currently has 125k miles on it and it’s kinda hard to find a high mileage 5w40 oil. For context I live in Southern Cali. So we don’t get much extreme temperatures here, and I for myself don’t drive to crazy I’m a pretty conservative driver as my bk1 is my daily .Do y’all recommend using oils catered to high mileage cars? And what do y’all use? 5w30 or 40? Should I make the switch to 5w40 even if it isn’t a “high mileage” oil?

·
I'd rather do it myself
19,297 Posts
I used 0w40 M1 for years and 1000s of miles, then went to 5w30 M1 Truck and Suv. I found the 0w40 was a bit too much and kept the oil temp down under 200F for my driving style. The 5w30 will run at 200-215F.

But as far as protection and keeping things clean the M1 does a fantastic job and at 5k mile intervals. Fuel dilution is usually the issue with the 2LT.

·
Premium Member
16,012 Posts
After research some of the issues that toyotas have been having with their 10,000 mile oil change engines, I would say change the oil every 3000~4000 miles.
The issues that the toyota engines have been having is oil consumption, due to excessive blow by...
This is because of increased piston ring wear, because the oil control rings being clogged by carbon/old oil.
plenty of youtube vids of tear downs showing the issue.

I know these cars aren't toyotas, it's something to keep in mind and wouldn't hurt to do.

·
Advenio Pariter
3,953 Posts