Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
i will be hopefully be installing downpipes soon on the car and started thinking, when i remove the stock downpipes can i just gut the primary cat as a cheap, temporary mod before getting the headers?

when the stock downpipes are removed, the primary cat is right there and gutting it shouldnt be a problem. i have never done this before as i have always removed my cats the right way ( never gutting them) but its just a random thought that popped into my head.

any downsides to runnin 0 cats but with Stock headers? look like alot of the rattling issue that aftermarket headers get is within the collector and that problem would be non existent with the stock header.

Just a thought guys.

·
제네시스 쿠페
1,070 Posts
i wouldn't do it....

i have no rattling issue with my headers

·
Out Pissing Off cops!
4,572 Posts
i will be hopefully be installing downpipes soon on the car and started thinking, when i remove the stock downpipes can i just gut the primary cat as a cheap, temporary mod before getting the headers?

when the stock downpipes are removed, the primary cat is right there and gutting it shouldnt be a problem. i have never done this before as i have always removed my cats the right way ( never gutting them) but its just a random thought that popped into my head.

any downsides to runnin 0 cats but with Stock headers? look like alot of the rattling issue that aftermarket headers get is within the collector and that problem would be non existent with the stock header.

Just a thought guys.

Only time I would do this is if I knew I would NEVER go back to stock, since the OEM cats cost quite a bit to replace.

Just sayin'.

·
Banned
7,214 Posts
.... no offense but gutting cats is for ricers...