Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So cylinder 5 has 80psi, and a shop said it's the valves. I have 87k on the odometer and I'm thinking about doing the timing chain at the same time. Should I go ahead and do it? If so, should I also get new cam and crank sprockets for it as well?

I'm trying to compile a list of parts and tools as this is my first time doing any repairs this involved, so I want to see if I have everything I need:

• Valve cover gaskets
  • Head gasket(s)
  • Head studs or head bolts
  • Valve stem seals
  • Intake gasket?
  • New valves(of course)
  • Lapping compound and valve lapping tool
  • Valve bucket set?

So firstly, let me know if I'm missing any parts. Secondly, should I get head studs or just head bolts? What's the purpose of studs instead of bolts? And can I reuse my current intake gasket? Because I can hear a leak in the intake but I'm not sure where it's coming from, I need to find out. Do I also need to set the clearance for the valve buckets again? Or can I get away with just putting each bucket back where it came from?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Add a catch can. The GDI doesn't allow gasoline to wash the PCV oil off the intake valves, and it ends up coking on until the valve doesn't seat right anymore. A catch can will help separate this oil mist out before it gets a chance to bake onto the back of the valves. I don't have answers for the actual questions you had, just the cause of it.

edit: did not realize how bad a necro this was :(

·
Sleeper!
866 Posts