Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Although I generally like my 2011 Genesis 2.0 MT, there's a lot of love she needs, and soon. Unfortunately, I don't currently have the money for everything I'd want to do. It would probably take me 2-3 years to save up for the ~$5,000 worth of mods I'm considering. But I can't handle being stock anymore, I need some goodies!

Fortunately, I have somewhat of a solution. By the time I graduate college next year, I'll be roughly $20,000 in debt. So I was considering throwing on an additional 2-4k worth of school debt so I can enjoy my car's potential a lot sooner. Heck, I was even considering taking out more school loans and putting it toward my car loan since my school loan interest rates are much lower. So what do you think, good idea? Bad idea? Absolutely insane idea?

·
Aww yeee
1,532 Posts
Being a broke college student I've done some stupid stuff to help fund my car, but never that stupid. Just save up for one thing at a time and try to plan it out. You don't need everything at once

·
Registered
1,035 Posts
Is it a government loan or a private loan? TBH, either way it's a poor decision. If you're gonna take out more school loans, just do more school and potentially get a better job.

If it's a private loan, you'd be batshit crazy to take out more to mod your car. Those are the only loans that are impossible to get out of if you can't pay them. Bankruptcy won't save you. Worse, since you can defer them for years, they just sit there and compound interest while you're busy working up to feeling comfortable paying them off.

You're better off building credit and going bit by bit on low limit credit cards, paying them off as you go. The debt never gets overwhelming, you continue to build credit which will be very important to you soon, and you still get to have your cake and eat it. Plus, going slow gives you time to learn how to mod your car right.