Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little bit of a noob here sorry. It's an automatic. I got this car not too long ago, I took it to the dealership for a recall and they said the trans fluid was a little dirty. Lately I have been feeling my car jerk a little when I let off the gas, I'm really not sure what it is but I've been thinking maybe it could be related to the transmission. Figured I'd go ahead and switch the fluid since it's at 65k miles. What is the easiest way to check the fluid since there's no dipstick and how often do y'all change the fluid?

·
Advenio Pariter
4,027 Posts
On my BK1 with the 5AT I would do a drain and fill every 45k miles or so. I added a Magnafine external filter too. When I traded her at over 134k miles she ran like a top. With the 2013 you have the 8AT. Personally, I would have your fluid changed. Either DIY or have a shop do it. I consider this good insurance as there is no such thing as "permanent" fluid in a device that rotates and goes through heat cycles. Your fluid is dirty and somewhat depleted by now.

·
Registered
120 Posts
Someone here mentioned the 8 spd. auto is similar to the 8 spd. in the BMWs (and other makes).

Most BMW guys recommend changing the transmission fluid and filter in the 8 spd. about every 50,000 miles. I just changed it in mine a couple months ago at 97,000 miles (bought it used, no idea if it was changed previously but the fluid did look pretty good as it drained out.