Hyundai Genesis Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As the the title states are there any reasons why a throw out bearing would blowout so prematurely?

Backstory: I'm still relatively new to owning a genesis coupe, it's a 2011 2.0t but when I bought the car the owner told me that the throw out was going out so surprise surprise it was done shown in the picture alone

So changed that things seemed fine but the clutch never really felt firm and I bleed it a good couple of times along the way still not feeling like it was perfect so today I decided to drop the trans again and I see this

But at this point I'm just wondering what could be causing this but also while down there I looked at the clutch it seemed fine till I grabbed the pressure plate and it wobbled side to side I want to say that can't be normal for any genesis let alone any car right
If anybody has some info it'd be greatly appreciated

·
Premium Member
16,012 Posts
The "bearing" part - usually because people hold down the clutch at the light; instead of putting it in neutral, letting go of the clutch, and waiting for the light to change.
Doing this means the bearing is engaged with the pressure plate, the whole time the pedal is down....

For the slave part - have no idea

When you put in a new one (bearing and slave are one unit), be sure to fill the pipe with brake fluid and try to get any air out of the slave, before bolting it in and attaching it to the bleeder on the outside of the transmission. It's mighty hard to bleed that parts without doing that, as the slope of the tube from there to the bleeder is shallow.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The "bearing" part - usually because people hold down the clutch at the light; instead of putting it in neutral, letting go of the clutch, and waiting for the light to change.
Doing this means the bearing is engaged with the pressure plate, the whole time the pedal is down....