Hyundai Genesis Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving my RWD Genesis for 4 years and never had an issue getting around but this last month has been an absolute nightmare, the ridiculous snowfall we're getting combined with no longer having underground parking has made the car unmanageable as it's 50/50 if it gets stuck anytime I park.

So I need to make a choice, either buy a winter beater with AWD, buy a new car (which is unlikely) or maybe get a limited slip diff and see if that makes the difference. I love the car so I really don't want to get rid of it and it's been an absolute dream reliability wise. I just need to figure something out to get through months like this (I've been stuck 2 times in 4 years before this month. This month alone I've been badly stuck 4 or 5 times and I'm assuming so long as I park on the street that number will only increase).

So has anyone here ever purchased an aftermarket diff? How much labor are we looking at for the install as I imagine it would be a pretty big job? Will it make enough of a difference to get me through these ridiculous snowfall days?

Thanks guys.

·
Advenio Pariter
3,967 Posts
I bought a set of winter tires and rims when I bought the car. I pass people on the way to work. They are not a panacea, but I have not problem getting around as long as I get a little traction. My car is a year-around vehicle. 102k miles and I still like driving it. Nice balance and totally reliable.

·
Registered
591 Posts
labour on diff probably about 3.5 from shop , so depending do the math

·
Registered
325 Posts
Plus one on winter tires! A good set of legit snow tires will help you a lot more with your traction issues than an LSD. We run Michelin Xi3 winter tires on Project Hoondy and they have never let us down.